Deleting your Google Voice number isn’t as hard as you think. In fact, you can do it on your iPhone or smartphones running Android OS.
Noteworthy, you should only delete the number if you want to stop using Google Voice permanently or for any other personal reasons. However, if you intend to continue using the service, deleting Google Voice may not be the best thing to do.
Instead, you can use alternative options that won’t result in losing your Google Voice number for good. You can opt to:
- Change your Google Voice number
- Unlink your phone number from your Google Voice account
- Transfer your number from Google Voice
How to unlink your Google Voice number
Follow this guide to unlink a Google Voice number from the phone number used for verification:
- Click on Menu, which is on the top left of Google Voice
- Move to Settings, then select Linked Numbers
- Tap on the X that appears next to the number
Your will have unlinked your number instantly. However, if you still want to deactivate Google Voice, note that there is no other method other than deleting your phone number.
Deleting your Google Voice number
Before deleting your Google Voice Number, you need to be sure you no longer want to use the number. If you are certain that you want to delete it, you can proceed by following the steps we’ve provided below.
But before you start, here is what you need to know:
- Your Google Voice number can’t be deleted if you paid for it to be transferred or if you are using it with Sprint.
- Messages in your inbox won’t be deleted when you delete your Google Voice number.
Now, to delete your Google Voice number:
- Visit voice.google.com on your computer and sign in to your Google Voice account
- Click on Menu on the left, then select Settings
- Select Voicemail on the left
- Beside your linked number, uncheck the box next to Get voicemail via message
- Click Account on the left side
- Below your Google Voice number, select Delete. Don’t worry if Google Voice looks different, you’re in the right place
- Beside your Google Voice number, click Delete
- Select Proceed to confirm, and your Google Voice number will be deleted
What happens when you delete the number?
Once you’ve deleted your Google Voice number, you are given a grace period of 90 days to claim it back. If you decide to claim your number back, follow these steps:
- Sign in to Google Voice.
- Select Menu
- Click on Legacy Google Voice
- Select Get your old number back
- Add a linked number
Nothing much can be done after the 90 days have elapsed and you haven’t claimed your old number. It is because the number is recycled then assigned to someone else.
Can you delete a Google Voice number and get a new one?
Yes. Once your previous Google Voice number has been permanently deleted, you will have to get a new Voice number for you to use the service.
You can do away with your Google Voice number by simply deleting it on your iPhone or Android device.
But, before deleting it, it’s essential to know that your Google Voice number won’t be deleted if you paid for it to be transferred or using if you’re using Sprint. Also, deleting your Voice number will not delete your inbox messages.
If you intend to continue using the service, you can change your number, unlink it from your mobile number or transfer it from Google Voice instead of deleting it.
Once you’ve deleted your Voice number, you are given a grace period of 90 days to reclaim it before it’s permanently deleted. You may have to get a new number after it has been deleted for you to use the service.