When you are getting started on Twitch, the first thing you do is browse or choose as many categories as possible that interest you. Also, you will have to follow someone to watch their content.
But as you continue using the site, you find that you are not watching all the channels you followed, or the profiles you followed before are not uploading as frequently as they used to.
That means you will have to clean the house by unfollowing them. But how do you unfollow someone on Twitch?
Unfollowing someone on Twitch is as simple as following them on the platform. When following a user, what you do is to click on the Follow button. The button is visible because it has a heart button.
After following the person, the button will turn into a heart shape. It is the heart icon that you use to reduce your Twitch followers.
How to unfollow someone on Twitch – a step-by-step guide
If you want to know how to unfollow someone on the Twitch website, follow the steps below:
- Sign in to your Twitch account using a computer browser.
- Click on Following located on the top-left panel of your screen. A list of live channels that you follow will appear.
- Click on the user’s image icon or username.
- Click on the heart icon located on the right side of your screen.
- Clicking on the icon means you want to unfollow the user.
- A pop-up screen will appear instructing you what will happen if you unfollow the user.
- Click on the button labeled Yes Unfollow.
After you click on the button, you will no longer receive notifications from the user or see them in your list of followed channels.
If you accidentally unfollowed someone, you can go back and click on the Follow button to follow them again.
How do I unfollow a category on Twitch?
When creating a Twitch account, you can follow as many categories as you want. If you want to unfollow a category on the platform, here is what to do:
- Sign in to your account.
- Click on Following.
- Scroll through until you find your list of categories.
- Click on the channel category you want to unfollow.
- When the page opens up, hover your mouse on the Following button. You will see a heart icon next to it.
- The Following button will change to Unfollow.
- Click on the button.
After clicking the button, it should change to Follow. That shows you have unfollowed the category.
Do Twitch streamers know if you unfollow?
When you unfollow a Twitch streamer, the person will not know you unfollowed them. If you are unfollowing a user with a large following, they may not even notice that you unfollowed them. The same case applies to channels with fewer followers.
The person will know if they use channel analytics to see how their follower and subscriber count varies each month. Even if a person keeps a manual record of their followers each day, they are unlikely to record all usernames and numbers of followers.
Does Twitch notify someone when you unfollow?
Twitch users do not receive notifications when other users unfollow them. That means they will not find out the specific people that unfollowed them. They can only know their subscribership using Twitch analytics.
Does blocking someone on Twitch make them unfollow you?
When you block someone on Twitch, the system will remove them from your Followers list. A channel that bans users will also remove them from their Chat list.
After blocking them, you will not see them anymore. The other person can decide to unfollow your account or hope you will unblock them in the future.
Why can’t I unfollow someone on Twitch?
You can only unfollow someone on Twitch by going to their channel. Under their live video stream, you will see a button with a black heart in the middle.
Once you hover your mouse on the button, the heart will appear red and broken. That shows you have unfollowed them. If it is not working, it is a system error, meaning you should try again. Alternatively, seek Twitch support for assistance.
The first step of unfollowing someone on Twitch is to go to their channel page. You will see a grey button and a black heart on the page. Click on the button to unfollow them.
When you unfollow the user, they will not get any notification. That means they will not know who unfollowed them.